Marion Lovato on “Sam, The Superkitty”, She Never Knows WHAT He’s Going to do Next!

I met Marion Lovato while we both were participating in the MARSocial Author of the Year Competition.

Marion-Lovato

She is a retired teacher, a caregiver for her mother, and an ambitious first-time author inspired by her clever cat, Sammy, and his crazy antics, expressions, etc., and added some imagination.

sammy-superkitty

Just-Lookin

Sam The Superkitty

Genre: Children’s books

Ordinary cat by day; Superhero at night.

Intended Audience: Children, but adults seem to enjoy it also.

Is this your first book?

Yes

Are you a plotter or a pantster?

A pantster because I never know what he’s (Sam) going to do next!

Cat’s are crazy that way; however, my cat, Storm, is rather predictable. She’s either sleeping or wanting someone to feed her. What book do you wish you could have written?

Crime novels like James Patterson.

I’ve read a lot of James Patterson. I’m curious if Sammy has similar detective skills. Have you always enjoyed writing?

Yes, I was writing poetry and short stories as a child.

That’s alway a good place to start! What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

Learn as much about the publishing business BEFORE you start. It will save you many costly mistakes.

Absolutely! Do you read your reviews?

Yes, I read my reviews.

Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad?

Fortunately, I haven’t had any “bad” ones, but I hope that if someone offers some constructive criticism I can learn from it.

Good for you! And here is an example of a great review!

By Gina LoBiondo on November 26, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

What an absolutely delightful book! Sam, the Superkitty is the imaginative story of a little cat who becomes a “Superkitty” whenever his family is in danger. Based on a once-feral cat that she rescued, author Marion Lovato creates a sweet and simple story that both young and old will enjoy! The delightful illustrations only add to the appeal of the story.

Do you have any other talents or hobbies?

I’m a free-lance photographer.

Me, too! Nikon or Cannon?

I use an old Pentax I’ve had for years that still works well. Old fashioned because it uses film. :>)

Wow! That is OLD SCHOOL! Yet, I remember those days…

What is your least favorite part of the publishing / writing process?

Marketing!

I know, right? What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Spread the word; that’s the best advertising you can get!

What are you working on now?

Sam’s next adventure involving the moon.

Sounds fun! And now for some more fun…

Do you have any other pets?

My other cat, Kirby, is mentioned in the book, but will be working with Sammy in future versions.

What is your favorite snack food?

Trail mix

Any particular recipe/blend?

My trail mix is Cranberry Craze which has cranberries, raisins, almonds, and cashews. Yum!

That sounds delish! Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Yes, I forgot to show up for jury duty, so the sheriff’s deputy came to school, arrested me, took in in front of the judge to get yelled at and pay my fine before they took me back to school.

WHAT? Seriously? They arrested you? You’d think they’d have some REAL criminals to chase!

What do you want your tombstone to say?

What the hell is she up to now?

Hilarious! I love it! Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?

The Great Pyramids of Egypt.

I hope you make it!

Now, please describe something you “deleted” from your work and why. 

I’ve deleted a few words or rewritten a paragraph, but nothing more. Have to remember this is my first book. 🙂

Blog: http://sammythesupercat.blogspot.com

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/LittleUmpersStudio

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1604588667

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7246584.Marion_Lovato

Book Promotion Sites: https://marsocialauthorbusinessenhancementinterviewblog.wordpress.com/marion-lovato/

https://olganm.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/marion-lovato-and-sam-the-superkitty-a-fabulous-illustrate-childrens-book/comment-page-1/#comment-8004

Leave a Reply

