Love is a Mystery… an Indecipherable Mystery in Augustine Sam’s Novel, Take Back the Memory

This blog has blessed me with the opportunity to reconnect with some of the friends I’ve made who, like me, are fulfilling their passion of writing and enduring the common obstacles encountered with the next steps of publishing and promoting.

This blog has also provided the opportunity to make new friends in the industry, learning more about them, and offering them a platform to share their experiences with my readers.Augustine-author-picture

As is the case with Augustine Sam whom I met via my publisher, Melange Books, LLC.

Augustine Sam is a bi-lingual journalist and an award-winning poet.

A member of the U.K. Chartered Institute of Journalists, he was formerly Special Desk editor at THISDAY newspapers, an authoritative third world daily, first published in collaboration with the Financial Times of London.

He later became correspondent for central Europe. His poems have been published in two international anthologies: The Sounds of Silence & Measures of the Heart. One of his poems: Anguish & Passion was the winner of the Editor’s Choice Awards in the North America Open Poetry Contest, USA.

Take Back the Memory

Contemporary Women’s Fiction

 Love is a mystery… an indecipherable mystery.

Intended for an Adult Audience

What would you do if you found out your husband of thirty years is not who you thought he was? What would you do if you suddenly discovered that you have indeed had the one thing you had yearned for all your life without realizing it?

Now, imagine a woman transformed from psychiatrist to patient, and lured into a compelling backward journey through her own life on a psychotherapist’s couch. Imagine skeletons from the past pulling her back into the vortex of darkness from which she thought she had escaped. Paige Lyman is a woman conned by fate, and now plagued by damning memories she must decipher in order to be free. Augustine Sam’s Take Back the Memory is a psychological exposé on love, betrayal, vengeance, and a heart-wrenching secret.

Now a little more about Augustine: 

What does your writing process look like?

Actually, it’s a simple process; I sit in front of the pc and stare at the screen. I stare at it until I come up with a satisfactory opening line. I smile at the scene unfolding in my mind’s eye and begin to write. When I’m done I ‘walk away’ from it for a while (which could be days in some cases) and try to forget the expressions used so that when I eventually come back to it, I can view it from a reader’s standpoint and spot any structural weakness.

I’ve worked that way as well. Do you have any strange writing habits?

I don’t know if this constitutes a strange writing habit but I enjoy listening to radio news broadcasts while writing. Sometimes I prefer a little musical distraction, especially movie scores like Ennio Morricone’s.

I usually have ID Investigation Discovery on the television. You never know when something will spark an idea for a plot or character! Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others? Love? Action? Racy?

No, definitely not. I take immense pleasure writing every scene that is part of my story.

Now that is a great attitude! Is there one subject you would never write about as an author?

This has never crossed my mind. I suppose my journalism background makes it impossible for me to shy away from any subject.

Good point! How did you come up with the title of your book or series?

I struggled with it for a long time. In fact, the first drafts I sent out had a very different title. Finally, I re-evaluated the plot development and decided the title should reflect the core element of the story.  

Finding a catchy title that will SELL the book is a challenge. Tell us a little bit about your cover art. Who designed it?

One of the first things I really liked about the book was the cover art. It was designed by Stephanie Bibb.

Here’s a SHOUT OUT to Stephanie Bibb! I like the way she layers her work. Why did you go with that particular image/artwork?

At first, I didn’t quite know what my book cover should look like. I made suggestions based on some scenes in the book that I thought could capture the essence of the story but when Stephanie read the book blurb, she came up with a totally different idea that got my attention immediately.

Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you to write?

Oscar Wilde & Nathaniel Hawthorne

I recall reading them both in school. Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

Paige Lyman is definitely my favorite character; she is, of course, the protagonist of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed creating this seemingly self-destructive and complicated woman, who found herself in the place where dreams ended and nightmares began.

How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealing to you?

I don’t have a least favorite character per se; they all played different, and I must say, vital roles that helped enhance the story.

If you could cast your characters in the Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

At the risk of sounding immodest, I would want Meryl Streep to play the adult Paige Lyman and the French actress, Bérénice Marlohe, to play the younger version of the character. I would cast Richard Gere as the psychologist, Dr. Wilson, and the English actor, Benedict Cumberbatch, as Stern W.

Great cast! As a journalist/fiction writer, have you always enjoyed writing?

Yes, I have always enjoyed writing. The only time in my life that I truly feel alive is when I am writing.

I know, that is a great feeling!  What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Review it and tell others about it.

Word of mouth is the key and is SOOOO easy! What do you wear while writing?

In summer, just shorts, and in winter, whatever I’m comfortable in.

I’ve adopted a lined shirt that I feel super comfy wearing, which is why I ask. Do you drink or smoke?

Yes, I smoke a pipe, and I enjoy a glass of red wine now and then.

A writer at his computer, a glass of red wine sparkling in the monitor’s glow, and a pipe, unlit, nestled in its holder.  I’d say that’s a pretty cool image! What is your biggest fear?

Being unable to fulfill myself as a successful writer.

If it weren’t for my “day job” and my husband’s career, I’d be fearful of supporting myself, but the fact that I PUBLISHED really helps. What do you want your tombstone to say?

Augustine Sam – author, poet, stranger.

Very interesting! If you had a supernatural power, what would it be?

The ability to read minds.

I know, right? What is something you want to accomplish before you die?

Write a timeless piece.

I like that!  What were you like as a child?

As a child, I was exactly as I am today – introverted and very organized.

What was your favorite toy?

I don’t remember having toys.

Well, that is something very poignant. Do you recall your dreams? Do you have any recurring dreams/nightmares?

Sometimes I recall my dreams; some of them are actually nightmares.

And that is rather profound! What is your favorite song?

I have more than one favorite song; the first one that comes to mind is Bob Dylan’s “Knocking on Heavens’ Door.”

That’s a good one. I’ll probably not be able to get it out of my head today. What is your favorite Fiction/Non-Fiction book?

The Collected Oscar Wilde / A Long Walk to Freedom

What is your favorite movie?

The Gods Must Be Crazy

Now THAT is a funny movie!

Please describe something you “deleted” from your work and why. Because…A  real writer knows when to hit THE DELETE KEY!

I deleted an entire scene from the book—a racy scene—that I thought was too descriptive. I also deleted an entire chapter about the protagonist’s childhood years because I thought dwelling too much on the flashback might weaken the connecting chapter.

Augustine-My-poetry-inspiring-image-from-a-trip-to-the-archipelago

Augustine’s Poetry Inspiring Image From a Trip to the Archipelago

Links:

http://www.authorsden.com/augustinesam

https://plus.google.com/118356869049166725073/posts/p/pub?hl=com

https://twitter.com/austin_sam001

https://www.facebook.com/pages/AugustineSam/1590154294531621

http://www.melange-books.com/authors/augustinesam/takeback.html

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00QOREIB0

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1831067.Augustine_Sam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAlwP99GX3Y

http://www.bookpleasures.com/websitepublisher/articles/7374/1/Meet-Augustine-Sam-Author-of-Take-Back-the-Memory/Page1.html#.VMUl6XDF_ZH  

International Poet of Merit Award Silver BowlAwards:

Editors’ Choice Award

(for poem: Anguish & Passion)

in the North America Open Poetry Contest

International Poet of Merit Award Silver Bowl Award

It has been a pleasure to get know you, Augustine,

and I hope you keep me updated on your continued success.

Geri

Leave a Reply

