What Do Bridal Jewelry, Barbarians, Chainmail, and THE EMERALD SORCERESS Have in Common? Ariana Wells!

Ariana Author Photo

Not a day goes by when my Facebook Friend and Fellow Author doesn’t make me LOL!

If not posting motivational quotes, she putting up clever quips guaranteed to make her friends chuckle.

I’ve enjoyed getting to know her a bit better with this interview.  I know you will, too!

Ariana Wells was born in Grand Haven, Michigan and was raised everywhere from Hawaii to up and down the California coast.

Currently, home is the Southern California desert, with her husband, three dogs and three cats.

She loves to read and studying history is a passion.

She is also a Graduate Gemologist, when she is not writing or reading, she loves designing jewelry and singing in the shower (the acoustics are best there) but don’t we all!

The Emerald Sorceress

Ariana TES Front Cover

Fantasy for ages 9 to 900!

Q. Are you a plotter or a pantster (writing by the seat of your pants)?

A: I am what is best described as a plotster. I’m half plotter and half panster. I usually start out with a rough idea of the story that I want to tell and then I just run with it until I get stuck. Then I stop and take the time to plot out what I’m doing and why. Then I’m off and running again until I get stuck once again.

I like it! Can I steal that term “plotster”? How did you come up with the title of your book or series?

The Emerald Sorceress sort of found me. At the time I started this story I had a group of friends who were barbarian reinactors with names like Flame and Dragon and I needed a name that would fit with the group and since I couldn’t wield a sword I went the magic route and came up with The Emerald Sorceress and as soon as I had that name a story was born and demanded to be told.

That sounds like GREAT fun! Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you to write?

Ooh, there have been so many authors who have inspired me but my absolute favorites have to be Ann McCaffery’s Dragon Rider Series and Katherine Kurtz’s Deryni Series. Both of these ladies weave a spell that transports the reader directly into their world.

I love that kind of book! Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

My favorite character from The Emerald Sorceress has to be Kacie. She is funny, down to earth and just plain sassy. She deals with the problems in life in complete “Kacie Fashion.” She has a nervous breakdown for half a second then she cracks a joke and gets the job done. Gotta love it.

Lord help her when she goes through menopause! How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealing to you?

My least favorite character is a bit harder. I’d have to say Amsden. He isn’t evil exactly. He’s just deliciously nasty. Give James Amsden a choice of being nice or nasty, he’ll choose nasty every time.

If only we all could get away with that! Have you always enjoyed writing?

I have told stories for as long as I can remember. Being an only child I made up stories to amuse myself and my friends. Once I started writing them down it was only a matter of time before I made story telling my profession.

That’s great. What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

Believe in yourself and never give up.

Sound advice. Do you have any other talents or hobbies?

When I’m not writing I can usually be found in my studio designing bridal jewelry or chainmailing.

I’ve seen chainmail being made…VERY tedious work! What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

The best thing readers can do to help make The Emerald Sorceress successful is tell their friends about it and write reviews.

Some readers think they have to write a long essay when just a few supportive and informative sentences can really do the trick. What are you working on now?

I am working on book two in the Medoran Series, titled The Dragon’s Blood

Nice! What is your next project?

A paranormal novella centered around finding King Arthur’s Sword of State, Clarent.

In other words, a lot of research! Good for you. Do you have a pet or pets?

I have three dogs and three cats.

That’s a lot of paws! Are you a compulsive shopper/hoarder?

Books. I have no resistance to books. My “to be read” book pile would hurt someone if it fall on them.

I am the same. If you could have any accents from anywhere in the world, what would you choose?

I do a mean English accent. I’ve been doing it since I was 5. I’m practicing a Scottish accent – not doing so well yet!

“I want to be a LAAA DEEE, I do!” and my Scottish tends to slip between Scottish, Irish, and Welsh. What were you like as a child? What was your favorite toy?

I was a very quiet child. With no siblings, I spent a lot of time alone and then my mother bought me a pair of roller skates for my fifth birthday. I put them on and didn’t take them off for almost seven years. (I wanted to be a roller derby queen.)

I had a white pair with red wheels! I used to clean the marks off with rubbing alcohol and polish them to keep them white. Do you recall your dreams? Do you have any recurring dreams/nightmares?

I love my dreams. They are so much fun. When I was a kid I dreamed over and over again that I was being chased around town by a giant chicken!

You might want to talk to a therapist about that one! LOL! Please describe something (significant number of words/a character/entire scene) you “deleted” from your work and why.  Because a real writer knows when to hit THE DELTE KEY!

Just this past week I deleted my entire opening chapter. It wasn’t working and no matter what I tried, I couldn’t make it work. I had no choice. It had to go. So, highlight – delete and bye, bye several weeks of work. Two chocolate chip cookies later and I was ready to start work on my new opening chapter.

But, I cheat. I never completely delete a scene that isn’t working. For every story I write I create a file for deleted scenes. Just because it doesn’t work in this story, doesn’t mean the scene or the essence of it won’t be perfect for another story. 

GREAT idea! Write a blog about that and I’ll reblog it!

Anyway readers…here are some links to for more information on Ariana Wells and her books!

http://arianawells.com/home

http://arianawells.com/blog/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ariana-Wells-Author/234563198010

http://www.amazon.com/Emerald-Sorceress-Ariana-Wells-ebook/dp/B004Q9U4XE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1422061952&sr=8-4&keywords=ariana+wells&pebp=1422061958674&peasin=B004Q9U4XE

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-emerald-sorceress-ariana-wells/1029266617?ean=9780615339887

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-emerald-sorceress

So, how DID I find a friend so eclectic in talent and friends?

I don’t seem to recall exactly, but I’m glad I did!

Here’s to many more years and LOLs!

Geri

One thought on “What Do Bridal Jewelry, Barbarians, Chainmail, and THE EMERALD SORCERESS Have in Common? Ariana Wells!

Leave a Reply

