Ann Simpson on How to Entertain DARK Guests

I have met many authors since I published my debut novel, The Kitchen Dance (shameless plug), but none like the fellowship I’ve enjoyed from the author’s I met during the MARSocial’s Author of the Year Competition.

One of1459229_10201196265764443_2048039834_n my fellow participants, Ann Simpson, can attest to the support we all continue to give each other as we pursue the craft of writing.

Ann lives in Virginia, works in a jail, and writes fiction in early morning before her crazy work day begins.

The Genealogist’s Guests (Dark Guest Series)

Genre: Paranormal

Intended Audience: Adult due to some content

One great thing about my new blog, is that it has given me the opportunity to get to know some of my fellow authors on a more personal/professional level and share this with my readers.

So I began be asking Ann, where she like to settle in and create her characters and their journeys.

Ann: My bedroom in a brown outdoor chair, the kind you’d carry in a bag with a strap over your shoulder. Water bottle in the cup holder. Small pillow for lower back comfort. It’s strange, I know, but I’m short and my feet reach the floor.

I call it creative engineering…good for you! Do you have any strange writing habits? 

Ann: I did tape a bunch of gigantic notes to my wall if that qualifies as strange.

And you didn’t send me photos of this? Geez! Are you a plotter or a pantster (writing by the seat of your pants)?

Ann: Pantster, mostly.

Me, too. Mostly. Is there one subject you would never write about as an author?

Ann: Erotica. I’d have to read it first. I think. Can’t get around to reading it.

I’m with you on that. My thoughts on this is that you’d have to experience it in order write about it. I’m just saying… Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you to write?

Ann: Stephen King.

Me, too! On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King is a must have for every writer’s library! Plus, I just finished reading Mr. Mercedes

Back to your book!

Who is your favorite character from your book and why? 

Ann: My favorite character is actually in book two Savage Descendants, not published yet. She’s an old lady who taps her cane on the floor over and over again. She annoys everyone else, but she has her reasons.

How about your least favorite character?  

Ann: The one I like least is from the first book The Genealogist’s Guests, a father who assaulted his son, and then in death he continues his acts.

What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

Ann: Write and write some more. Then get back to writing. Don’t try to write what’s selling. Be yourself and write a good story that you’re passionate about. If it’s meaningful for you, it’s likely going to be meaningful to others. So reach deep inside and let the passion out on paper.

Great advice! Do you read your reviews?

Ann: I do read reviews.

Do you respond to them, good or bad?

Ann: If I respond it is usually a thank you.

Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad? 

Ann: If the review is a really good, bad review, meaning it has some helpful suggestions to improve my writing I welcome it.

Unfortunately, there are those that are BAD, bad reviews. What (when not writing) do you do to support yourself?

Ann: I work in a jail. Many people say, JAIL! Why on earth would you work in a jail. It is a challenge.

Sounds like a great place to “study characters”! What can we expect from you in the future?

Ann: Books two and three Savage Descendants and WARNED in the Dark Guests Series, and a third currently titled I’m Working On It. The latter being the one I’ll likely publish first. It’s not a part of the series and it’s not paranormal. I write to improve. I aim to entertain.

That’s great! And now, for the fun of it…

 Do you drink or smoke? I do not smoke, quit in ’97. Occasional drink.

Good for you! (on  both) Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Ann: Funny, maybe my boss!

That is funny! Have you ever gotten into a bar fight? No, if I drink, I love everyone. Ann: Yes, it’s pretty pathetic.

It’s pretty AWESOME! What do you want your tombstone to say?

Ann: Let’s do that living thing again.

I like it! Do you recall your dreams? Do you have any recurring dreams/nightmares? I don’t recall many dreams.

Ann: The ones I do recall scare me awake. One came back after more than five years and instead of some unseen force snatching my covers of the bed it snatch me off the bed. When I woke up I was at the bottom of my bed, butt, legs and feet dangling.

Seriously! That’s happened to me. It’s like an “entity” comes in your room and messes with you while you’re sleeping. CrEePy! Thanks for sharing that!

For more information on Ann Simpson and her books, check out these links:

authorannsimpson@gmail.com

http://about.me/authorannsimpson

https://annsimpson.wordpress.com/the-talk

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18632743-the-genealogist-s-guests

http://www.amazon.com/Ann-Simpson/e/B006QIT4RU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6442239.Ann_Simpson

Thanks, Ann!

This interview was great!

You are such a busy lady, and I look forward to your continued success! 

Geri

 

 

 

One thought on “Ann Simpson on How to Entertain DARK Guests

Leave a Reply

