Karynne Summars and Her Desperate Pursuit of Sexy Stories Abroad

KS headshotKarynne Summars is my “go to” author friend for advice on promoting!

Despite her busy schedule (both professionally and socially), she still finds time to help out fellow authors and keep in contact with her fans! She’s awesome!

Karynne (even her name is spelled sexily!) is the author of these Dramatic Romance Thrillers, Desperate Pursuit in Venice and Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro.

Desperate Pursuit in Venice_Karynne Summars
What if you become the object of someone’s infatuation? Expect everything—from passionate love to a dangerous pursuit of happiness in Desperate Pursuit in Venice.

Intended Audience: Male and female age 18 and up who like an intelligent but emotional and seductive story, an exhilarating roller coaster ride.

Desperate_Pursuit_in_Cover_for_Kindle

Readers will root for the beautiful (inside and out) protagonist and her captivating newfound love, but may at one point also feel compassion for the enigmatic antagonist as the story develops and they get to know him from a different side.

She is also the Executive Producer of the psychological thriller/horror/mystery feature film Disturbed (2015), a KeeranVaani Creations production.

KS Disturbed

I just found out that she is also a contributing writer for PopImpressKA Journal, an inspiring, creative and empowering magazine for which she has written travel articles, historic event coverage like the 25th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall, and an interview with Austria’s No. 1 TV personality and actor, Alfons Haider.  She also created fashion blogs and video for PopImpressKA Fashion Brand. I’ll have to check out her work!

And now a little something to help you get know Karynne better:

Q: What does your writing process look like?

A: I usually write in the evenings when there is less of a chance of being interrupted. Somehow I come up with the best ideas at night.

Q: Are you a plotter or a pantster (writing by the seat of your pants)?

A: I do a general outline of what kind of story I would like to tell and then just sit down and write.

Q: Is there one subject you would never write about as an author? What is it?

A: Overtly violent or gruesome activities or too unrealistic stories. I also could not see myself writing anything in the Sci Fi area.

Q: How did you come up with the title of your book or series?

A: The titles of my books are pretty much determined by the main plot in my stories.

Q: What other books/authors are similar to your own? What makes them similar?

A: None that I can think of. I like to set myself apart from existing books/stories and hopefully deliver a unique read.

Q: Tell us a little bit about your cover art. Who designed it? Why did you go with that particular image/artwork?

A: The cover art speaks to the actions in my books. I searched for the suitable photos and then had a cover designer put it together. For DPIV I used the designer at Bookbaby and for DPIR the cover design was done by Sean Strong.

Q: Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

A: The Antagonist because he is a gift that keeps on giving and I can put him into almost any situation without losing credibility.

  1. Do you read your reviews? Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad?

A: I read all my reviews. So far they have been very good reviews. In case any negative reviews come up in the future, I will make an honest attempt to understand what caused the negative opinion but it would not affect me in any way. Reviews are a reflection of the reviewer, in my opinion. You can’t please everyone and readers are entitled to their opinion. I would just hope that they would be fair and offer constructive criticism rather than just being mean or haters. I would also expect that they would come from readers who primarily read books in that genre. I also consider that readers who usually read classic material of famous authors may not be the best reviewers of today’s modern material.

Q: What (when not writing) do you do to support yourself?

A: I try to promote my work without being a nuisance, of course, via social media and my blog. I also prepare book trailer videos and share these to provide some visuals for my novels.

Q: What is your least favorite part of the publishing / writing process?

A: Definitely the formatting and the many rounds of editing, which have to be done.

Q: What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

A: You can never have enough reviews, especially on Amazon. It would also be helpful if they would share the books and their reviews on their social media channels. I always say that a review doesn’t have to be very long. I believe a couple of sentences would be sufficient.

Q: What is your best marketing tip?

A: I believe that word of mouth is still the best marketing you can get for your work.

Q: What are you working on now?

A: I am currently working on my third book, an espionage thriller. I am also a contributing writer for PopImpressKA Journal, an inspiring, empowering and creative magazine.

Q: What is your next project?

A: I am currently preparing a treatment for my novels/stories to show what they would look like as a movie.

Q; What is your biggest fear?

A: Not having enough time for all the creative things I am involved in and which are in my head. Eventually I will have to let go of something.

Q: What do you want your tombstone to say?

A: Committed until the end. She never gave up following her dreams and passion.

Q: If you had a supernatural power, what would it be?

A: Being able to end violence, greed and dishonesty and save the rainforests.

Q: Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before? Provide images if you want.

A: Various countries in South America

Q: If you were any plant or animal, what would you be? Provide images if you want!

A: Either a big wild cat or a horse.

Q: What is something you want to accomplish before you die?

A: Make a Desperate Pursuit in Venice/Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro movie.

Q: Please describe something (significant number of words/a character/entire scene) you “deleted” from your work and why. Because a real writer knows when to hit THE DELETE KEY!

A: I deleted various dialogues of the main characters as well as the supporting characters because they didn’t serve any purpose to move the story forward.

Links:

http://myBook.to/DPIV_KS

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18076454-desperate-pursuit-in-venice

http://www.goodreads.com/goodreadscomkarynne_summars

http://authorsdb.com/authors-directory/5042-karynne-summars

YouTube Trailers:

DPIV: http://youtu.be/kf68DKCBNPw

DPIR: http://youtu.be/JAS-ZJY63q8

http://www.disturbedmovie.com

Other Interviews:

http://thegeekiary.com/karynne-summars-interview-author-of-desperate-pursuit-in-venice/17836

http://player.cinchcast.com/?platformId=1&assetType=single&assetId=6951323

http://www.wnbnetworkwest.com/WnbAuthorsShow.html

Awards:

2014 MARSocial Author-of-the-Year Award

Winner in the 2014 “50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading” Contest

Presented by The Authors Show.

I met Karynne while competing in the MARSocial Author-of-the-Year Award and we have kept in touch ever since. She may have been awarded the prize, but many of the authors who participated are winners because we have met a wonderful network of friendship and support!

Thank you, Karynne for agreeing to my interview.

I really enjoyed your answers and I hope to see your work on the big screen.

Until then, I’d love to hear your novels as audiobooks! Hint! Hint!

Geri

One thought on “Karynne Summars and Her Desperate Pursuit of Sexy Stories Abroad

Leave a Reply

